Daily Archives: June 7, 2008

Beginning a Reaver Titan – June 7th, 2008

Ok, here we are: We have our Armorcast Titan sitting in front of us. This is the first time its been out of its box in years. Its in pieces and gosh do they look daunting!!

First things first:
Wow, I never saw that flash and mold lines before. I guess I was just so excited to have it, that I overlooked those details. Well lets dry fit it together first and make sure all the parts are there and everything fits and isn’t warped.

<time passes>

Yep all the parts are there, and nothing seems warped, but one of the feet has a piece chipped off of it. But this can be hidden by the stance of the leg, so we will attribute that to battle damage, its good to go! Talk about massive pins. The parts are held together via bolts, except where the body piece goes into the shin guard and where the shin guard goes into the foot. I will have to super glue those parts.

So should I paint it all as one piece or take it apart, and paint pieces seperately. If I do it as one piece there will be several areas that won’t get primed and painted. So apart it is. Think I will leave the head attatched to the torso though, thats not that hard to get to.

<time passes>

Ok, its apart, now where are those files. I have to get rid of the flash before priming and painting.

<time passes>
Well that only took an hour or so.

I want the colors to be mostly metallic when I finish, so I will prime black.
I’m using Krylon black primer. I notice during the priming that some of the flat areas seem to flash out, leaving spots where the paint is thinner. No problem, let it dry and do a second coat and its all smoothly covered now.

Now to let it dry before putting on the next color.

More later this afternoon.