Daily Archives: July 21, 2008

More 5th edition 40k games logged

So I was able to participate in a small 40k tournament yesterday (Sunday).  A simple 1000 point affair with a modified Force org chart (0-1 HQ, 0-1 Elite, 0-1 Heavy, 0-1 Fast, 2+ troop).

So my Sisters of Perpetual Remorse, with fresh uniforms and a strong outlook took to the fray!

I faced 3 differring opponents: A DA Ravenwing, A Chaos Space Marine with a unit of Tzeentch SMs, and a Chaos Khorne Army in my 3 rounds.  We played each of the basic scenarios and each of the basic setups.

Wow, Troop selection is of Major importance in this system.  I only brought 2 troop selections, 1 HQ, 1 Fast, and 1 Heavy for my 1000 points.  In the first game, against the Raven wing, I was able to styme the Bike assault my bringing the battle first to them in the middle of the table, if the game had gone longer, then his bikes would have been able to break my line and zoom to my objective, which was unguarded.  Unfortunately for him, is that he failed to watch the time and his own objective, so no one claimed either objective – Tie.

2nd game, against a troop heavy CSM force, this scenario was based on kill points.  This time, I was able to wittle my opponent down as he crossed the field, and deep struck my Seriphim back into his devastator squad taking them out, from where they had been potshotting me from behind cover with Heavy bolters and Laz cannons.  His Champion, with a lash of submission, enticed my troopers out of their fortified positions, allowing his units to concentrate fire on each unit, almost decimating me.  Thankgoodness for Spirit of the Matrye and good dice rolls.  This encouraged me to take my trooper squad and  my Cannoness an bums rush the champion.  Divine guidance ensured that I took him out in 1 1/2 rounds.  This simple fact, plus the survival of most of my units by Spirit allowed me to win the game based on kill points.

3rdgame against the Khorne.  This one placed 5 objectives (loot counters) on the table.  I only had 2 troops versus his 5 troops for capturing objectives.  I raced off with one of my troops in a rhino toward 1 objective, camped my other troop on another objective, placed my Exorcist to overlook as many objective as I could, and sent my Cannonness and Seriphim to contest other objectives.  He used cover as much as possible, mostly because my Exorcist came into its own, averaging 4+ shots a round.  I focused on his troops, and the withering fire caused many of his troops to drop down to 2 or 3 troops.  Unfortunately he was able to close in on me and in the end, only my Tank and my Seriphim where left, and he had 4 of 5 objectives.  A clear victory for troops!

Overall, I have to admit I like this new version of 40k.  The distribution of wounds is equitible, I saw leader of my squad and specialized weapons fall, while normal bolter troopers survived.  I saw some squad survive further since I was able to distribute insta kill hits with normal hits and double up the insta kill onto one trooper, as she would dive in front of her team to take the melta blast and the plasma round to save her fellow sisters! (talk about heroic!)