Citadel Washes – Part Deux

Continuing my coverage of GW Washes:

I participated in a local GW Battle Bunker’s Iron Painting Competition in celebration of their release of 5th edtion of 40k.

The event which provided an opportunity to paint a Battleforce sized army of 40k models within 24 hours.  We had to show up at the store at 5pm on Friday with our Battleforce, which could be be assembled and primed already.

I showed up with a Sisters of Battle force.  Firstly, the SOB (Sisters of Battle) were my first force when I started playing Warhammer 40k back in 3rd edition.  We were relegated to a simple Chapter Approved list to play our force as there had been no army codex since 2nd edition for the army.  But the idea of women in powered armor and Faith based feats is something too big for me to ever give up on.

So for this contest I brought 2 large units of SOB troopers (12 women each), 1 unit of Retributors (6 strong), a unit of Seriphim (12 – which included 2 alternate troopers either 2 hand flamers or 2 inferno pistols), a Immolator/Rhino and a Canoness.
I also brought along 21 bases from Jeff at Dragon Forge (http://www.dragonforge.com) that I had purchased for my sisters last year.
For paints I used a mixture of Privateer Press P3, Citadel, Vajello, and Coate d’armes.
List:
P3 Menoth White Base (Bone White)
P3 Menoth White Highlight
P3 Menoth Sanquine Base
P3 Menoth Sanquine Highlight
P3 Rhulic Gold
P3 Solid Gold
Citadel Boltgun Metal
Citadel Gryphonne Sepia Wash
Citadel Thraca Green Wash
Citadel Baal Red Wash
Citadel Blue Wash
Citadel Royal Blue
Citadel Devlin Mud Wash
Citadel Ogrin Flesh Wash
Citadel Foundation Mechrite Red
Vajallo Black
Vajallo Silver
Vajello Scorpian Green
Vajello Flaming Orange
Vajello Bronze
Coat d’arms White
I primed all the models in basic white first, with a spray white primer.
I first painted the sisters’ bottom robes in in the Menoth Red base color.  I then applied the Citadel Gryphon Sepia wash to the entire model., this made each model a bone white (brown/white).

It took while for the models to dry and there was some pooling on the bottom edges of many of the girls robes and feet.  The final drying took close to an hour.

During this time, I painted the bases I picked up from Jeff with Citadel Blood Red Spray paint (which you can no longer get) and washed them with the Citadel Mud Wash.

I next applied by dry brushing the Menoth White Base color, which tended to be a bone white, the effect was not very noticeable, except where my brush wiped over red areas of the model.
The next dry brush layer was Menoth White Highlight to the models.  This really brightened the models providing for a sort of “White Deathwatch bone color” that I was looking for.

I now broke out the Menoth Red Highlight, and went over the red robes again., completely covering all the red areas, including any areas that might have been nicked or drybrushed by the white dry brushing from previous steps, this provided for some great shading of the red robe areas (between the red base coast, Sepia wash and the white dry brush overstrokes).  Plus I used this same red now to pick out any fleur de leis icons throughout the helmets, backpacks and armor.

I now picked out details of various guns and barrels with black, and bronze, also base coated holy symbols with P3 Rhulic Gold and highlighted the symbols with the P3 Solid Gold.
I had to decide how to show some effect with Plasma guns, flamers and melta guns.  I thought I would color code the various guns:  Red for flame throwers, green for Melta weapons, and Blue for Plasma weapons.   I first tried some orange on the barrel of the flamers, and wash them in red, and that sucked, so I went over them again with simple boltgun metal and washed them in red.  That worked.  For Melta guns, I painted the power element with the Citadel blue wash and that provided a healthy glow of the Bone white (now blue).  I washed the Melta Gun power chambers with the Citadel Green wash for an earie glow, again perfect.
I painted the end of the plasma pistols with bronze.  Nice effect.  I also painted the jewels of the power swords blue and the conduit of the power sword a Green.
Now I was ready for bases again.  I painted the rubble piles of Jeff’s Dragonforge bases with a Light brown, and again washed the entire base with the Citadel Devlin Mud wash.   I also washed the handmade bases with the Ogre Mud to match the general tone of the custom bases by Jeff.  I then painted the edging of the all the models with Citadel Foundation Mecha Red to tie all the model together base wize.


As I said this was for a Ironman painting contest, and I began my painting at 6pm, giving my self a handicap of 1 hour, because I was busy getting all my stuff together at home.  Over the course of the evening we had over 10 people join in to participate.  We had everything from Space Orcs, to Necrons, Eldar, Chaos Space Marines, Dark Angels, and Tau.
Face and hair was washed with Citadel Ogrin Flesh wash.
I finished my basic painting of my Sisters at 1 pm the next day, and spent the next 4 hours, cleaning up little details, sprucing up my bases with static grass, painting eye and black lip stick on their faces. And highlighting their hair again with Coat d’armes white.  I kept thinking of Children of the corn as I was doing this last step.


I added a banner to one of the Sister unit Signet bearer.


I applied Witch Hunter/Inquisitional decals to the Immolator and the Banner!


I sealed the entire group with spray on Polyurethane that I had purchased from Home Depot.
Of the other contestants, only the Dark Angel painter besides myself, finished his battleforce, though there were some very great models coming out of the none finishers.


The judges were the Managers and workers at Games-workshop and I was sweating my chances as the DA painter’s style was very clean and he had been working up the last minute with some elegant details.  He even made for dirt marks on the bottom of his Rhino.


In the end??  I actually won!!  This is the first major speed painting contest that I won, and for a 24 hour sprint, I was elated!


Thoughts on the Citadel washes:
These have much that makes them much better than previous Inks and washes.  They took hours off of the required painting and shading that I had to do and since they are not an ink, once they dried I was able paint again more highlights and base coats.  Inks would have mixed into the paints that were applied after the inking.
Overall I am very happy for the GW Washes, and would recommend them to others and will continue to incorporate them in future models that I paint!

5 responses to “Citadel Washes – Part Deux

  1. Congratulations Robyn! Love the Washes effects.
    Great Work & it keeps our beloved Sisters out front.
    I still think they are the very best models from Citadel

  2. Miniature Peddler

    I really love the Sister who is in the middle of throwing a grenade. This isn’t one of the standard lot figurines, and is harder to get, except via trade. But there she is with a grenade in the hand, the pin in her teeth….

    Great models.

  3. Wow! Looks like a fun event. Wish we had one of those down here.

  4. Miniature Peddler

    They tend to do from 2 to 3 of these a year. Unfortunately most of them occur during the school year, which rules me out, but with Summer Vacation occurring, I was able to jump into this one.

    I always look forward to events like this to motivate me for big projects.

  5. Chris in Ventura

    Robyn, congrats~!

Leave a comment